Home > Blogging, Feeling > Question: You think I’m a L-O-S-E-R ?

Question: You think I’m a L-O-S-E-R ?

If there was anything that I hated about this Sunday, it was my friend calling me a LOSER. Yes, There is one person in this world, who thinks I am a LOSER. The reason for this post is to make you believe that you are a LOSER too if you think what he said is right. But first, Why did he call me a LOSER.. Just because i don’t have a girl friend right now.. What? Is that the real reason? you may ask..

Well, probably not but yes that’s the core part of the statement.. It’s called ‘girl friend’.. My question is, are we really a LOSER if we don’t have a ‘Girl friend’ or a ‘Boy friend’.. If you have had a small affair in the past, you are less than a loser, but having no girlfriend is like a crime.. WTH.. I seek explanation..

I argued quite a lot with him over what he had to say, defending myself and holding myself as the model of happiness without a girlfriend.. He had everything otherwise.. he is the model of this generation calling me a man of the past with narrow thoughts.. I personally didn’t want this to lead into another argument and quietly accepted everything he had to say.. I pondered over the thoughts last night and went back in time for the reason.. For everyone who is a non-Indian, this may seem like a waste of time, here i present the Indian Perspective.

I was born in Nandurbar, Maharastra and bought up in Adoni, Andhra pradesh. My grandfather descended to Adoni after having spent most of his childhood in Gujarat. It was a small little town.. Never had too many friends.. by the time i finished my first grade we moved to Chennai, the place where I am currently located.

It was already late in June and schools had already begun, I had to settle in a small school that was close to my house with kids who only spoke Tamil. I picked up the language but before i could start using it more fluently, It was time to change school again. This time it was my favorite-part-of-the-childhood Sindhi Model.

This post is getting too personal and filled with Childhood memories.. I’d rather put that in a separate post and stick to the topic at hand. I was always a shy kinda guy at school. Never been confident about my looks or myself. Not so good in studies and no reason for a girl to ask for my notes, I hadn’t spoken to a girl until i reached class 10. I’m not going to get into the details of who was the first girl and what was the first thing we spoke about etc etc.. I hope you get the point..

So what is it got to do with childhood or school? Looking at the current trend, i have heard stories about kids in love when they are in class 6. This is the harsh reality, and if you think this generation is smarter than the rest of us, you are right!

Blame it on the bollywood industry? They probably have a lot more to do with just making films..  I hope the adult part of it doesn’t get into them sooner than they should know.

Then comes college, This is where love blossoms.. and this is when they realize that it’s just attraction more than love.. This is the time their senses are really working.. They meet another girl and realize the new one is lot better than the old one.. Before he could realize, she would have found somebody else and this is what happens with 90 pc of the couples out of school..

Some of them move on to make a stronger relationship.. and what they call girlfriends today…But not having one, makes you a LOSER? i don’t think so.. i think If i had fallen for any such feeling, I wouldn’t have made it so far into education.. Seriously.. It’s something that i like about myself and now that I’m confident about my looks and myself, i can look out for the ‘right’ girl.. T

hat doesn’t make me a LOSER as i convince myself to sleep and forget about my wishful friend who is no body other than just a random thought. The inspiration to this thought came when i saw a guy and a girl hold hand in hand, dressed in school uniform and just about 16 years old.

Like the Blog post? Subscribe to the RSS Feed by Email.
Rate this Blog? Click here!.

Kunal Janu

PS: I searched for ‘girl friend’ on the google image search and came up with images you wouldn’t want to post..

Categories: Blogging, Feeling
  1. April 13, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    hii,

    The answer to your question:

    “You do not need to be loved, not at the cost of yourself. The single relationship that is truly central and crucial in a life is the relationship to the self. Of all the people you will know in a lifetime, you are the only one you will never lose.” – Jo Courdert

    Puja

  2. April 16, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I think its better being called a L-O-S-E-R than someone’s boyfriend. Courtsey – Recession!!!

    😀

  3. Kunal Janu
    April 16, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Ambika

    You are probably right and that stands as the best conclusion to the post 😛

    Kunal janu

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

