Home > Blogging, CAS, DTH, Feeling, India, Tata Sky, Television > Oops.. I did it again..

Oops.. I did it again..

tatasky-1That’s probably what I’d say when i do something wrong. Only this time I’m expecting TataSky management to say it, and i hope they do. I know someone reading this post should be saying ‘Oh, Not again’ but what the hell it gave me a reason to post. More cribbing about TataSky’s exceptional ‘Jhingalala’ Service in the post. Hey this time I’m also criticizing my favorite sports broadcaster ESPN STAR, But they have a role play in this post. You might want to end it here. Hey BTW, I may want you to read the ‘PS’ (Post Script) at the end of the post.. So just take a look..

TataSky has changed their packages once again. The change in packages bring the change in prices. Living with TataSky has become a costly affair these days considering the addition of ‘non-sense’ package if i may call it,’Sports Platinum’ as TataSky would call it. The pack is still the same carrying 3 ‘niche’ sports channels (Star Sports, Star Cricket, ESPN) only this time the price has been hiked to Rs.65 compared to Rs.40 earlier, a good 60% change. To defend themselves with the price hike, TataSky management made sure that they add another pack called the ‘ESPN Star Sports’ pack which would cost us the already being paid Rs.40. Star cricket is also made a-le-carte at Rs.25 per month. What happens now is that Subscribers who jsut cant live without these channels will end up paying 25 bucks more than what they did. Thanks to this move inflation at my house has peaked a good percentage. I’m not sure how i can calculate that, But definitely impacts my daily spending.

Although what this does is that Subscribers who only like to watch Cricket will pay a good Rs.15 less by subscribing only to Star Cricket. To others who don’t watch these channels even when given for free, the change means nothing. It’s too much to blame at Tatasky at this time because the Price Hike is from the ESS side who demand an increase in price. TataSky has just passed it on to the customer. When Oil Prices hike, the impact is felt world wide; ESS changing the rates has impacted the DTH world. Almost all the DTH providers have increased their prices. But like a good government tries to shield people from the rising prices, I think TataSky should try something in this regard. TataSky cannot be blamed for anything! I have chosen it, and I have to continue to live with what it has to give. I cannot unsubscribe until my subscription expires mid may 2009.

TataSky should try to shield their customers from the price impact, What the hell.. They are running a business. They should at least try to present their customer retention problem because of the high prices to TRAI. It has to do something, I hope they do.

I’m a part of the forum where there are some genuine discussions on the problems while some mostly use it to crib about the service. I find a lot of people liking TataSky and who continue to feel what TataSky had done was completely acceptable. Even I agree, By providing channels at a-le-carte allows a subscriber to choose what he wants. But TataSky would not do that. The prices will be out in the open available to the public, so how does it manage to earn? So something of this does not seem like happening. At least when I’m one of their subscribers.

As for now, If one subscribes to all channels on board he would have to shed close to Rs.500 a month. Well that was predicted by many of us in the forum. Next prediction says, The prices would peak to Rs.1000 in the next 6 months. Luckily my subscription would have expired by then and I’ll be out of TataSky. All the best to people who continue sticking by it, considering it the next generation technology.

An Update on some previous issues:

  • Colors continues to be on Lifestyle Gold pack. It’s time TataSky makes it a-le-carte. I’m shedding Rs.45 for this channel alone.
  • Active Sports seems to be on vacation for a long time. It’s been a long long time since i have seen highlights and even longer since i have watched a match with some other angle.
  • Cartoon or Kids channels continue being a part of the base pack, forcing subscribers to pay for what they do not want. At least a majority of the grownups might want to skip this pack if separated from the base pack.
  • TataSky + makes a dull start into the market. Aamir Khan and Gul panag play a decent Husband-wife on the advertisement explaining some of the features. Well for starters, these ad’s don’t tell u what is hidden. It has a 160GB hard disk on which u record ur programs, what actually is happening is that It has 80Gb for recording and 80Gb for recording Live TV in pause mode. All DVR (Digital Video recorders) available in the local market allow the user to copy the data onto an external drive meaning that u can record the program and then transfer it to ur computer. TataSky has sealed all ports that aid doing that. Copyright?? I’m not too sure if that is the reason. One also needs to shed out Rs.50 Monthly for using the + service. This has been waived off for lifetime as a entry offer.

What else am i missing.. Yeah.. TataSky has now it’s toll free number – 18001806633. Not too sure, not tried it yet. But since it comes from a genuine member on the forum I can stand by what he said. U may want to read this post to know some older problems (Many links to post’s on the internet).

That’s all from me. Take care.

Like the Blog post? Subscribe to the RSS Feed by Email.
Rate this Blog? Click here!.

Kunal

PS: Before i finish this, I did celebrate my 24th birthday on December the 1st 2008. 23 years(1985-2008) after i was born the only achivements that i can recall are this blog and the seat that I’m on (My Job). Life is been good so far, and i hope it continues the same way. Friends make life more easy and I wish i can find as many as possible.

  1. December 3, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Firstly – Someone reading this post is thinking of sueing you for the Title. And I have conclusive evidences ( šŸ˜‰ )

    Secondly – Whenevr I see a post of yours related to Tata SKY, i go lolling. Tata SKy surely brings out the worst in you! And we all can see how you love complain about it!! Keep it up! I love to see others being criticised šŸ˜€

    Thirdly – Such a humble admission that you had your birthday 2 days ago. I was thinking of writing a Big-Bang Post when mine comes šŸ˜›
    Wish you a very very Happy Happy B’day, although a belated one. May you find further reasons to crib about Tata Sky..!! šŸ˜†

  2. Kunal
    December 4, 2008 at 8:25 am

    My Bad!
    Firstly: Wanted to give u credits for the title.. But i thought, why bring in somebody’s name into a post on something i dont like..

    I like ur blog!

    Secondly: I hate TataSky and it is quite evident.. I hate anything that is not value for money. Why I hate people who don’t value money.. This is hard earned money and u r fortunate to have it, why waste it on some nonsense.. šŸ˜€

    Thirdly: My Bday was not so special to anybody! And hey when’s ur bday?

    U keep my comment count rising, so keep coming back.. And that’s a humble request.. šŸ˜›
    Kunal

  3. December 4, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Hmm…

    Why to anybody else, my b’day is extremey special to Myself.. that is why I am planning the Post.. šŸ˜›

    Waise its in the same month, and don’t worry.. I will not let go untill everyone knows about it!! After all, a few extra wishes are always welcome šŸ˜€

    And don’t worry about me coming back or not.
    There are some things Money can’t buy….
    BUT there are also some things even Money Can’t Avoid – That’s ME!! 8)

  4. Kunal
    December 4, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I’ll be waiting for that post!

  1. December 5, 2008 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

