Home > Blogging, Feeling, Funny, India > To do or Not to Do :-\

To do or Not to Do :-\

Happy Diwali šŸ™‚

Long time no see.. Yes, It’s been a while since the last post.. Wondering where have i been? Just been busy, lots of work on hand. No reason for a post actually! I had a few issues i wanted to discuss, Raj Thackeray and the Non Maharastrian non sense. About Why the central government has no say on the the crisis in Srilanka where thousands of Srilankan Tamil’s are being killed by the army.. Or even Celebrating Diwali.. These are sensitive issues and i better keep it to talking about it than having something written.

I have been rather ‘Mad’ thinking about what i did this ‘Dhanteras’. I need some more light to clear this one off my mind, therefore putting it up here to know ur views. Nothing political, nothing social, purely personal and a lot of questions unanswered.

Friday, 24th October 2008:
Let this be the last time, I said to myself.

It was about 5.45 pm and was almost time for the office bus to depart when I had to run, jump, fall, crawl to make it on time. I could well have laid back, arrived slowly. The bus was to depart only at 6 because of a few colleagues who could not run, jump or crawl took their time completing their work.Ā  We started at 6 and reached home at almost 9.30, A good 2 and half hour late.

Reason: Most probably the human chain that the ruling party had organized to grab attention from the central government to the killings of Srilankan Tamil’s by the troops in Srilanka. Another reason could have been the flooded roads, Chennai received almost 20 cms of rain in about 2 hours. Police forces were being deployed to control traffic, For the first time i had seen Military personnel moderating traffic. Bikes rode the footpaths, while people used roads for walking. I tried helping people navigate better by standing on the foot board of the hardly moving bus. I had a good visual of traffic, I was standing above the eye level of people on roads u see šŸ™‚ Sound of running engines, the smoke, the horns, the feeling of being stuck all led to a tramatic experience leading back home.

Let this be the last time, I said to myself, Again.

Saturday, 25th October 2008:
After an eventful Friday night, The day started pretty well. Sounds of Fire Crackers were already deafening the ears. Breakfast was not the usual, It was a nice combination of sweets and savories. This is when i like Diwali. Good Food, Festive Atmosphere and 100 ‘Free’ messages waiting to be sent to friends! šŸ˜€

Place: My Apartment, Outside my block.
God! Was i lucky that day? I was welcomed back to the apartment with 2 fully soaked 500 rupee notes. whose could it be? I looked up to the heavens for an answer. The answer however had been dripping clothes and a stream of water flowing from a balcony.

My immediate response to it was to enquire with the neighbors about a lost 1000 bucks.
“Hi aunty, did u have some money in the pockets of the clothes u have drying outside?” – I asked.
“I’m not sure, Why do u ask?” – she replied
“I found these 500 rupee notes just under ur balcony all soaked. Could it be yours?”
“Wait lemme check if there are pockets on clothes hanging outside”
The phone rings while she is checking, she answers it and goes back into the room. The phone rings again and she’s back.
“Yes, That should be mine. My son says he had it in the pocket.”
“Here u go, Bye”, I handed the money and returned to my house.

Mom: Lakshmi Ji gave u darshan on ‘dhanteras’ and u just let it go? Money is not the problem, we could have well donated it. But u should have at least gotten it to the house before returning it.

Sister: Yes u should have, U allowed no time to think. Anyways, it’s gone to the owner why do we bother.

Dad: Nothing wrong with ur thought about returning the money, but how do u know if it is really her’s?

Me: I found it right under her balcony, All wet. There were clothes hanging outside too.

Dad: Probably yes, but somebody else could have dropped it and the dripping water could have made it wet. Right?

Me: yeah, I did not think about that. But why would our neighbor cheat, on an auspicious day.

Mom: Forget all that, That’s not the problem. Good you returned the money. But it is about bringing Lakshmi Ji home before u let her go. God gave u an opportunity to welcome her.

Me: I don’t know, because that puts me under a lot of confusion over money that was not mine.

Was i right, or is Mum right? Did i really missed a chance of bringing Lakshmi Ji to my house??Ā  If i had the money i could have well made the day of a few orphanage kids by buying them fire crackers and sweets this Diwali. Was god giving me the money to just do that? I could have kept those notes to myself and handed some other notes to the neighbor. I could have done so many things with it, should i have returned? was it really theirs? Why am i feeling sad about it? What was the best possible thing to do at times like this one? Mann i was so ‘Mad’ at myself that day. I was not sure. What do u think? I have just stopped thinking about it as the very thought brings back all the questions. When we were packing gifts for the relatives, “We have already given them a gift of 1000 rupees, why do u want to send her this one too” my dad joked. Arrrrgghhh Not again, Please!

Like the Blog post? Subscribe to the RSS Feed by Email.
Rate this Blog? Click here!.

Kunal

PS: As i was editing the post for publishing, LVS sent me a request to join a Google service which gives updates of new post via sms. šŸ˜€ I think it only works for blogger, Here is the link.

  1. Ambika
    October 29, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Hmm…. That leaves me quite thoughtful even at the end of a tiring day..
    Well I suppose, I would have first brought it home.
    Reason: Not because I would have gone to the extent of thinking what your mom thought (and probably every Indian mom would think), but simply because, I wouldn’t know what to do with it! However, finally it had to be returned to its rightful owner, which you (probably) did!

    I feel, once something is already done, the only way to live peacefully, is to think about it optimistically! What if you would have been accused of stealing it, had u brought it home?? šŸ˜‰

    Although I do have more to say on that but would post another comment tomorrow.. šŸ˜›
    Till then I think there’s nothing for you to be sad about. If you feel u missed the chance of bringing Lakshmi ji home, then don’t worry, she would definately consider your Good Intentions(of not keeping the money with yourself) šŸ˜€

    See you here,
    Ambika

  2. Kunal
    October 30, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Ambika..

    It’s a dilemma.. I can’t think of any one option that would help make things clear.. It’s out of my system now..

    btw, there is a poll that u can vote for, why did u not VOTE!

    Kunal

  3. Rejishankar
    October 30, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Hi Kunal,

    I will go with what you did. The way you responded was an ideal response , i would say. If i was there, would have done either this way or else i would have left the money as it is , cause the owner could possibly come in search for the money later. Also, If you really wanted to help the poor and orphans , you should do it in your money and not others. Its just my perception about the incident and nothing else.

    meet you in your next post … C U

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

