Home > Blogging, Feeling, India > A Lazy Sunday Post.. 50 Paise that I miss..

A Lazy Sunday Post.. 50 Paise that I miss..

It was Thursday, October 2nd 2008. We had planned to play cricket early this morning. Our team managed to win 1 out of 2 matches.. Yayeeee! The second game was a big win! My performance was not so significant in the teams win. I scored a meager 1 run off 2 balls in the first, A golden duck (0 off 1 ball) in the second. Disappointed and Dejected i left the field and traveled back home. I was traveling by the corporation buses this time, as it was a holiday. I managed a seat and began the 25 km, 1 hour journey back home.

The ticket cost, Rs. 4.50. I paid a 10 rupee note for it, I don’t carry change, The purse gets too heavy. The Bus conductorย  paid me back only 5 rupees.
“Please collect the change as u get off the bus”, He said.
“Ok, But don’t forget the change.” I replied.

It was a long journey, having struggled to score runs, i was feeling tired. Nothing to do in the bus, I was lost in thoughts.. What happened there, I never score so less.. I went back in thoughts and assessed my performances. I have been out in the very first over; If i have managed to play past it, i have gone on to make significant contribution to the team.

This time i had decided to play past the first over. Luck would not let me do it. It was a slow full toss, waiting to be hit. I was sucked into the shot, the ball took the edge of the bat and lobbed a simple catch to the man ‘almost’ standing at silly point. Everyone around me broke into laughter. What a shot!! Straight to the man! I was done by a full toss.. God! I’m growing useless.

Halfway through the journey, I was looking for the Bus conductor to see if he had decided to pay me the change. The bus had crowded by then. The conductor was busy collecting money for the tickets. I was looking at what he did for a while. Every time there was a 50 paise denominated ticket, he would say the ‘Collect it later’ line to the passenger. This got into me, I demanded my 50 paise right away. He’s been doing it for a while now. I asked him to check his bag for any 50 paise coins, which i was sure were there. The conductor played foul for a while and got busy again.

My Bus Stop arrived, Tired, I decided to leave the 50 paise and walk back home. As i was walking back home, a lot crossed my mind. Did the conductor really not have the 50 paise coins?? Or was he cheating people?? Imagine, more than 500 people(Only an assumption, could be even more) use the bus daily, 500*50paise= Rs.250 a day which amounts to Rs.7500 a month. The Conductor was earning more than what he would get as salary! A Con Game?? A dacoit in disguise?? Or a real ‘I don’t have a 50 paise now’

Whatever be the case, I hope he is not using this game against the poor people, I earn, therefore the 50 paise doesn’t bother me much. But it may make a difference in someone Else’s life. Or may be the Conductor is in real need for money, May be he wants his children to study in a better school, May be he wants money for his Mother’s medicine. I understand the need for Money, but fooling people?? I don’t empathize with that. This experience leaves me with a few thoughts and a lazy Sunday evening post.

Like this Blog Post? Subscribe to the RSS Feed by Email.
Rate this Blog? Click here!.

Kunal

Ps: It’s a lazy post, not a lot of editing has been done on it. Please ignore any kind of mistakes. Comment at will, no forcing this time ๐Ÿ˜€
As if u flood my blog with comments all the time!

  1. LVS
    October 6, 2008 at 8:04 am

    hmm..technically speaking, it is failure on the conductor’s part towards his duty…
    but if the daily wager needs it, he should give the right change..

    i don’t know if can blame the conductor alone…

  2. Kunal
    October 6, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Who else needs to be blamed here?
    He knows that o would not travel the full distance to collect the change, it was only 50 paise! Who cares..

  3. LVS
    October 6, 2008 at 9:25 am

    exactly,
    its your ‘who cares’ attitude that’s losing you 50p
    he’s simply exploiting it..knowingly or unknowingly

  4. Kunal
    October 6, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Totally agree to that..
    What would u call it then, A Scam, A theft ??
    I’m going too far i guess, who knows if he didn’t really carry change…

  5. LVS
    October 6, 2008 at 9:48 am

    either way, chances are less he’ll read this post ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Kunal
    October 6, 2008 at 9:50 am

    @LVS..
    I just wanted to know if there was a possible moral to the story.. ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. LVS
    October 6, 2008 at 9:53 am

    moral: carry your own change or don’t crib

  8. Kunal
    October 6, 2008 at 9:54 am

    I’m filing a petition for the government to stop all the tickets that cost something with 50paise..

  9. Ambika
    October 6, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    The moral is : If in India, you will face dozens of such problems everyday! So get used to missing your 50p!!

  10. October 6, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    HI Great Post I really found it Interesting. Looking forward for similar posts from you

  11. Kunal
    October 7, 2008 at 7:53 am

    @ Preeyanca..

    Hope to see u more regularly.. Thanks for stopping by..

  12. October 7, 2008 at 11:09 am

    sure…

    but any explanation for comments of Mr Geoffry Boycott about the fabulous four.

  13. October 7, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Also do u agree with what sir viv Richards said about sachin

  14. October 7, 2008 at 11:16 am

    see i want 2 ask u something…is the 50 paise coin still in use

  15. Kunal
    October 7, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    @Preeyanca..

    Yes, the coins are still in use.. Even the 25 paise coin is being used..

    About the comments of famous cricketers on the ‘Fabulous Four’.. I’m not sure what they have said and what they have been talking about..

    Anyways, u could have posted such comment in the relevant blog.. I’ll share my thoughts on the comments soon..

  16. LVS
    October 10, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    MTC
    CENTRAL DEPOT
    No. 022737 10/10/08 06:48:42
    EXPRESS
    INDIRA NAGAR — KARAPAKKAM

    FULL : 1 x 5.50 = 5.50

    Rs.5.550
    00075 C15605 D51355 50073451N
    NOT TRANSFERABLE

    Paid amount: Rs.5/-

    Kunal, my friend, today am happy because I’ve settled your debt!

  17. LVS
    October 10, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    kindly ignore the typo..

    the ticket charge was Rs.5.50

  18. Ambika
    October 10, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Lolzz… ๐Ÿ˜€

    Ambika

  19. Kunal
    October 13, 2008 at 8:35 am

    I thought this blog would never get comments.. Nobody would be interested in talking about it.. Look where has it headed now.. this is comment no.19.. Unbelievable..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

