Home > Cities, Feeling, Funny, India, Prediction, Science, Uncategorized, Web > What is special on October 17, 2008

What is special on October 17, 2008

Thanks to change in shifts, I’m now working early 😦 I now check in to office at 7.30 AM sacrificing sleep and health. I’m not complaining, nor am i going to discuss it. I don’t want to turn the blog into ‘Bridget Jones Diaries’. Anyways, Why are we discussing October 17,2008?? It is not the end of the world! Please stop thinking about LHC. Hmmm.. Can’t get your mind off it, can u? Wait, yes! Before we even start discussing the topic, Here is a forward email that i received this morning.

“Coming October 17, 2008 the sun will rise continuously for 36 hrs(1.5 days).

During this time the US countries will be dark for 1.5 days.
It will convert 3 days into 2 big days. It will happen once in 2400 yrs. We’re very lucky to see this. ”

U get the point right! I’m lucky to witness such an event!! Yayeee!! They happen every 2400 Years, How exciting is it to be a part of such spectacle!! Yayeee!! God help people who believe such things without understanding the facts behind it. I’m worried.

“Who was the first person to witness such an event?” I asked to a group of friends, out of curiosity .

“I don’t know and i don’t bother to care, for now I’m setting a reminder on my phone as a preparation to me not missing the event” said one of them.

My reliable source, Google, helped. I wanted to understand the real facts behind it, Turns out no one had answers to it, and may be it is only one of those spam mails that u keep getting every now and then.  People seem to believe such things very easily, they are not bothered to get into the real facts behind it, which is what motivates such emails. People were doing poojas to avert the disaster that LHC would cause. God, These news channels i tell you!

Logically this event should not be possible. Even if it did, it would be the cause for a big disaster. If u had been concentrating in your science class, you should know that the day/night pattern on the earth is because the earth rotates(on its own axis, not around the sun :D).At a given time only one part of the earth faces the sun (day) while the other part is in dark (night). If something like this was to happen, the earth should stop rotating for a while.  The earths magnetic field also depends on the rotation of the earth, which means the magnetic field might weaken, the solar rays that it had been protecting would seep into earth and cause plenty of hazards. Such important information cannot go without talks in the media. Has NASA predicted it? Well, no such information is a part of the email. And none of it available on the internet either.

I think i could use one more example.. Last night i received a message that had the following content.
“Be careful, There is a possibility of acid rain on days between Sep 13- Sep 18, 2008 because a huge ring was seen around the moon on Sep 12,2008. This event happens only in 250 years. Its very harmful and could cause skin cancer. Scientists at NASA have given this news. Forward it to all your friends and family.”

People know that this cannot skip being a part of the news, No news channels(not the Hindi news channels, they are more of an entertainment channels) aired it. Meaning its fake, Yet people keep forwarding the message. Just a precautionary measure they say. Did u know: Acid rains are caused because of air pollution, rain water dissolves all the harmful gases and pours as Acid rain. It is for sure, not because u have seen some ring around the moon!! For that matter, every rain that u receive these days is acidic, not so concentrated with acid, but definitely some percentage of it. That is why you are suggested to clean the water before use. Otherwise, precipitation is the purest form of of water u can receive. And about the ring, I have seen this ring over 3 times now. It would be seen on any clear day given that the moon is right over your head. Kids had been discussing this, One of them who plays cricket with me said that the ring is the actual ‘Ozone Hole’ which is going to cause skin cancer to him 😀 Who gives these kids all such information. Some stupid spammer!! I’m happy that atleast he got the Skin Cancer part right. :p

I’m not sure if we will see the sun for full 36 hours, if it does, I’ll be amazed!! I’ll also make sure to learn the facts behind it. AS for now, all these messages are spam to me, and I’m ignoring them. Please do not believe any such messages nor allow anybody to believe it, Talk the facts and people will agree to what you said.  I hope u agree to what i have said. Lets see some comments 🙂

Like the Blog post? Subscribe to the RSS Feed by Email.
Rate this Blog? Click here!.

Kunal

Ps: Thanks to the person who forwarded me this email, I had a reason to blog. U saved the world from “Kunal’s Diaries” 😀

  1. perkypink
    September 18, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    nice post.. so m i that person who u hv thanked in the end??? 🙂

  2. LVS
    September 19, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I once received a similar mail warning me about one “Friday the 13th” claiming it comes “once in every 400 years!!!!!”.

    Goddamnit, do your math, it comes 4 times in a year.

    Double goddamnit!

  3. LVS
    September 19, 2008 at 8:59 am

    seriously,
    I detest…DETEST these nonsense forwards. How the heck does M$ care if you forward a mail? Why on God’s green earth should they give you $200??? Everyone who uses email (and many others) knows M$..they don’t need any more marketing their brand name!

    And these forwards have now started seeping to SMSes…One total atheist I know forwarded a symbol of religious importance to a sect, and told me I’d get 12 years of bad luck if I didn’t forward it.

    Damn ’em all!!

    PS: I wonder why they removed the http://www.youaredamned.com website :-/ It was SO useful!

  4. Kunal
    September 19, 2008 at 9:36 am

    @PerkyPink (Anushree)
    Yeah.. Thanks for that email.. I had wanted to post something on that, U only reminded me of the same 🙂

    @LVS
    People know that M$ would not give away anything like that for free, but when they see no harming in doing so, like forwarding emails etc.. They do..

    I had received a really bad sms with the following content
    “If u love ur mom, forward this sms to atleast 20 people or ur mom will die! I had no other choice than to forward this.”

    What the…. I deleted it.. and saw that my mom was more healthier than ever.. I was worried all the time though..

  5. pujagarwal
    September 19, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Kunal

    After seeing the schedule change in your office timings…..I am a little upset for you that with the timings of 10-7 u r so so so busy….then now what when you have to report at 7.30 am!!!! Anyways I hope u will manage time out for ur wonderful blogs…..:)

    These spams or rather emails or messages containing rumours are good enough just to give it a read and forget about it as soon as you move on to the next one in you inbox 😛

    As far as SMSs are concerned I am sure these are started by some Networks so as to make money 😉 , rest is all understood (I hope)

    Puja

  6. September 19, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    First of al, I dont understand the rise of sun twice in a day , quite weird . hmm lets see how it happens (keeping my fingers crossed ;)) . Thanks you for the info`s you provided

  7. Kunal
    September 19, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    @ Reji
    It will not rise twice in a day, for it to rise it has to set first..
    Also, There is no genuine proof on the internet or anywhere else for that matter.. To me it is a fake story.. If it happens, I’ll be amazed…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

