Home > Funny, Television > Losing Sight

Losing Sight

For the past few days, i have been noting a deterioration in my eye sight. It could be because i spend most of the time in front of the computer, which happens to be a part of my job. I also think that this could also possibly related to my persistence of publishing a post a day. That’s Weird right ?? Stop thinking and read on..

I have been working in this company for over an year now, and like everyone would understand, people in  software company spend atleast 7 hours in front of the computer. I also make it a point to take a regular breaks to keep myself from getting strained. Yes, I take breaks to keep away from stress, Not because i  want to escape work. Now come on, everyone needs a break.. I just take one too many. So as i was telling, that is the routine activity everyday.. Hey hey, I know what u r thinking, “Saturdays and Sundays are Holidays”.. Can u please stop thinking about all that so that we can quickly finish this.. Post anything u have on the mind in the comments section, which u usually skip.. Wierdo!!

Thanks to u, I have lost flow.. Where were we?? Yeah, Spending time.. So I’ve been using the computer for about 10 hours a day (9am to 7pm, I think is 10 hours), of course there were breaks.., But i never felt anything like ‘losing sight’ until the day i had started blogging, Regularly that is. It could be because I’m thinking of ways to get precise to the point more often than not, Trying to make the blog crisp for users to identify my writing skills :D..  While i write this post i realize that I have my eyes wide open than normal. The blinking almost seems to be a negligible activity. I think It is also straining my ‘always sleepy brain’ with the sudden burst of thoughts.

Adding to this are my TV Viewing habits. I sleep a lot less when compared to the amount of time i spend in front of a screen, a computer screen and the television screen take up 10 hours of my time while i sleep only for 7 hours. This could possibly be the reason… I’m already feeling some burning sensation in  my eyes as i write this line. I’m trying to blink voluntarily to soothe my eyes and It is helping the cause. So blogging it is. Combined with the TV Viewing habits, Its becoming worse. One question:” Do u have a similar feeling in the eyes, or is it just my eyes??”

Talking about Tv, Reminds me of a ‘Offline’ comment of one of my friend, who also happens to be a colleague and a regular reader of this blog. He once said, “Most of ur blogs carry content related to something about Tv or a show that u have seen on TV.” I know u have thought about having to tell me the same, but some weird thing on ur computer wouldn’t let u type a comment and post it. Or u must have been too scared of ur email id, being available to the whole list of spammers on the internet. Whatever be the reason, u definitely have missed a chance of getting featured on this blog 😀

Interesting Discovery mate, I found that almost 90% of my posts have content that is somehow related to TV viewing. And this grows as a concern to me, Am i only good with stuff that is related to television? As my eyes burn more, All i have to say is.. Tv Viewing is a habit and it happens to be ‘My 4th Essential‘.

By watching TV, I give some time to myself. It happens to be the biggest source to my knowledge and all i’m doing spending time watching it is; Updating My Knowledge. Though not always Knowledge ,I find time for some general entertainment shows too. Not those stupid ‘Saas Bahu’ serials, Some ‘Real’ reality shows.. Mostly English.. I would want to recommend the following shows to anyone who would don’t mind spending time watching TV.

Star World – Moment of Truth, Are u smarter than a 5th grader, The beauty and the geek, Friends.
BBC Entertainment –  Coupling, The Real hustle, Darren Brown – A trick of mind.
AXN – The Amazing Race.
Discovery Travel and Living – Wife Swap, Globe Trekker, While you were out.
NDTV Imagine – Scope for Improvement.
Discovery Channel & National Geographic Channel –  Man Vs Wild, Mega Structures, Air Crash Investigation, I did not know that, What would happen if..

Great!! We are talking television again. I also understand that by not giving time for eyes to relax, I’m only spoiling its health. As an experiment to evaluate my addiction to it, I’m practicing sleep from as early as 10pm. Like LHC – The Atom Smasher, The experiment is expected to go on for a month before the results are achieved. The experiment has begun on September 10, 2008. It is expected to end on 10th October 2008. No Cmon, This was not a planned activity.., Its a mere coincidence that the biggest experiment in history of science was started the same day as i planned to start an experiment of my own. The LHC experiment was not even worth mentioning in this post, The thought only crossed my mind when i was thinking of having a link on the post that redirects readers to a different post on my blog. More views u see 🙂

Hey it’s time i end this post, Fun is over. As the world awaits the result of the LHC experiment, I will have my own results to publish.. This day will be marked as the biggest day in the history of ‘Modern Science’. As for what I’m going to do after publishing this post, I switch off the computer to save some electricity in a way contributing to the TN governments effort to end the power crisis. Do come back to read the results of my experiment. Happy Reading.

Like the Blog post? Subscribe to the RSS Feed by Email.
Rate this Blog? Click here!.

Kunal

Ps: If u have not noticed, there have been updates on the right hand columns..

Update in the friend links section.. “Life .. Shilpa’s Perspective” is a big recommend.

I have been looking for ways to provide subscription to comments, Readers don’t get email alerts on the comments posted after they had visited.. Unforunately, WordPress does not allow anonymous or Non wordpress users with this service.. So i ahve created an rss reader, that u may want to subscribe too. This can also be placed in one of ur news readers to have regular updates. It is also available in the “Subscribe By Email” section.

Categories: Funny, Television Tags: , , ,
  1. September 11, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    🙂 Thank you for recomending my blog to your readers! I appriciate it!

    So looks like you get time to blog from work! Lucky you!!

  2. Kunal
    September 12, 2008 at 9:23 am

    @Shilpa

    Ur blog is way cool.. I definitely want my readers to see ur blog..

    About having time to blog from work.. I keep myself 1 hour in a day for this activity.. To keep the habit going, I start writing in the breaks.. And make sure that before i leave the post is published.. I don’t think this is going to happen for long though..

    I reach home late, and by the time i’m at home, i’m in no mood to do anything.. My 4th essential also needs some time..

    Commenting on ur blog’s brought one of ur readers, Maddy to my blog.. The more links u have the more the possibility of people clicking it 🙂

    Kunal

  3. Puja
    September 12, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    hey buddy!!!

    Its good to see that you are inculcating goods habits like most of our famous men these days…and you wont believe i went through almost all your blogs, all very well written (specially the bird one…do put the pics if possible )and now on u sure will get feedbacks from me!!

    Losing Sight is a common problem to most of us who have to sit in front of the system for work….(with no other option)…and to add to it is the 4th essential of course. The only thing that can help are the in between informal breaks , which is good for both our sight as well as our backbone….hehe

  4. sankaran
    September 18, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    hi kunal , have more sun exposure, that would solve your eye problem.

  5. Kunal
    September 18, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Hi Sankaran..

    Feels nice to see a comment from a new person on the blog.

    I have been trying everything to protect my eyes, The sun idea looks good, but since i spend most of the time inside office, under artificial light, taking breaks only in between, i don’t get much exposure to sun. This time i’ll take more time out in the sun and see if it helps. Thanks.

    @ all
    Newest addition is ‘Eye Defender’ a software that tells me to get a break every 60 mins so that i don’t forget about it.. During breaks i can choose to do some simple eye exercises that are shown on the screen..

    Kunal

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

